A Typical Day in Denmark 

img_4888
Daily Morning Bike Ride

6:30am
It’s still dark outside, but the day is calling. I wake myself up with a shower, scarf down some oatmeal, and make coffee with hot water and Nescafé espresso powder.

7:38am
I speed out the door into the crisp morning air and hop onto my bike. It’s cold. I pedal furiously to Kokkedal station and make it just in time. The train glides south toward Copenhagen, past the wintry pastoral landscape.

8:20am
Downtown Copenhagen. I walk past shops in the city center and the morning rush of cyclers. It feels like New York City, but calmer and less industrial.

I make it to my economics class just in time. New answers and new questions: Globalization, the welfare state, winners and losers, Denmark vs. America.

10:05am
It’s time for Danish. We’re learning how to order food.
“Jeg vil gerne have en kop kaffe.”
YA VI GERN-E HAE EYN COPE KAFF-E
[I would like to have a cup of coffee]

12pm
Lunchtime!

Today, just like yesterday and the day before, I packed a sandwich for lunch. Specifically, I packed Irene’s quick and easy smørrebrød (see recipe below). Denmark is famous for smørrebrød, which is an open-faced sandwich made with rye bread. I admire, eat, and savor my perfect creation.

1:30pm
I spend the afternoon in a cozy coffee shop – reading, writing, or just have a nice afternoon over coffee with friends. Sights are definitely interesting to see, but it also seems that relaxing with friends after a long day is a part of the lifestyle here.

img_0094
Chilling at a cozy coffee shop

6pm
On Mondays and Wednesdays, I make my way to Frederiksberg for rugby practice. The girls on the team are really nice and our coaches are hilarious. We do fitness, drills, and passes for 2 hours. It’s really fun, but I wonder how long it will take me to play just mediocrely well. When practice is over, I wait for a while at the train station because trains don’t run as frequently at this hour. It’s still cold.

On other days of the week, I head home, so I can make it in time for dinner. I relax or do some reading on the train ride home and wonder what we will be having for dinner. The train announces, “Næste station: Kokkedal.” I get off the train and embark on the last leg of my journey home. This is one of my favorite parts of the day – speeding down the road home on my bike.

7pm
I’m home! I get settled and it’s nearly dinnertime.

At the table, Malene lights the candles. We have a nice meal often with chicken or fish and vegetables. Dinner can sometimes last a couple of hours, and it’s really quite cozy.


Irene's Quick & Easy Smørrebrød

  • Time: 5 min
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

img_0090

Ingredients

  • 2 pieces Rye bread
  • RejeOst cream cheese spread
  • smoked salmon
  • lettuce
  • cucumber
  • avocado

Directions

  1. Spread the RejeOst onto one piece of bread
  2. Layer avocado, cucumber, tomato, and lettuce
  3. Do steps 1&2 again with the second piece of bread

One thought on “A Typical Day in Denmark 

Leave a Reply

